Almost Chill

Almost Worth Your Time…Almost

Richard Branson Makes Unlimited Vacation Days A Real Thing

branson

Yah00.com– Unlimited vacation time could be the greatest idea ever. Or not. (Thinkstock)
With his call for unlimited vacation days, Virgin founder Richard Branson may very well usher in a new era of rested and satisfied workers who avoid burnout and enjoy a more rewarding work-life balance.
Or maybe he’s trying to drum up more business for his airline.
Either way, Sir Branson’s vacation proposal — which he announced on his blog — is an intriguing one. Branson writes that he’d heard about how Netflix doesn’t track its employees’ vacation days or require workers to ask permission to take days off. “It is left to the employee alone to decide if and when he or she feels like taking a few hours, a day, a week or a month off,” Branson writes.
Richard Branson revealed his company will stop tracking its employees’ vacations. They can take off as much time as they want. (Photo: Thinkstock)
Branson has introduced his no-limit vacation policy to Virgin’s offices in the U.S. and U.K., with plans to extend it to subsidiaries should the move prove successful. ”Flexible working has revolutionised how, where and when we all do our jobs,” he writes. “So, if working nine to five no longer applies, then why should strict annual leave (vacation) policies?” 

 


 

The headline “Unlimited Vacation Days” is as good as it gets in terms of “click bait”. As someone who currently has unlimited vacation days, due to early retirement, I was intrigued to learn more. When I saw “UNLIMITED VACATION DAYS,” my mind quickly jumped to the age old saying, “If something is too good to be true, it usually is”. I got the same feeling I get every time I see an ad in the margin with a “guarantee” to make my dick bigger. I so badly wish it were that easy. To click on an ad, submit all my credit card information and UPS will drop off some special beans that jack bought from a farmer that magically make your dick grow. Sadly, I don’t think Jack and the beanstalk is a true story and I’m 99.9% positive magic dick growing pills don’t exist. Still hoping for science to prove me wrong on the latter.

Sorry, I kind of got on a tangent. Instead of having my dreams crushed, Richard Branson gave me hope. He made unlimited vacation days a real thing. He gave workers the freedom to live the lives they want to live. Richard Branson is the kind of fearless leader I want to follow into battle. The guy who is willing to think outside the box and then execute.

Case in point

Case in point

If more places wanted to adopt this policy, I’d be willing to come out of retirement and join the workforce again. To quote a Tron, “America wanna see me live, not work.” And that’s how I intend to live my life.

 

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2014 by .